On the Validity of Model Releases and Compensation

Talk about your experiences with models, equipment, locations and new work

On the Validity of Model Releases and Compensation

Postby St Marc on Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:09 pm

During my forays into the wild world of Internet photography, I have often chanced upon discussions of model releases and their presumptive validity. One frequently encounters an assertion along these lines:

"Models have to get 'reasonable pay' for a release: if the photographer doesn't pay the model a reasonable amount relative to the profit they make from the photograph, the release will be held invalid in court."

Today I was sufficiently irritated by the latest incidence of this declaration that I decided to investigate. For those of you who don't know, in my daylight incarnation, I am a corporate attorney specializing in intellectual property law. So I have a lawyer who works cheap and has unlimited seat access to Lexis/Nexis, the primary electronic legal research system.

I conducted a careful investigation into the law of my own home state, Illinois, as well as a more cursory investigation of the law of New York and California, which obviously comprise the lion's share of the photography market. If you went to *hire* somebody to do this search, it would have been four figures, easy. And the first figure wouldn't have been a "one."

My findings?

In Illinois, unless the release really sucks, or the client exceeds its terms (a lot of them are time-limited and dingbat clients keep using the pics) the model loses every time. Every Federal case cited, including those from other circuits and the USSC, is in agreement. As far as arguing to compensation, in one case, the compensation wasn't even set forth in the agreement, and the court still threw out the model's complaint.